Oh, well hello there…

Premise and Preoccupation (or, Introduction: The Rush):

This project is an attempt to combine all the different sides of ourselves. Art, practicality, love, statements- any dimension that we hold within ourselves.

“In order for me to get to where I’m going, I’m going to have to be a little more off kilter than usual. When you admit you are powerless, the initial fallout can be very chaotic. All previous structures are dismantled and lost as they did not serve their purpose.  That leaves a period of time with no structures. With no traffic controller. With nothing keeping things where they need to be.  Getting from point A to point B may detour through point E first. I have to empty it all out.”

“Our minds are always working going shifting rotating spitting speaking screaming whispering howling laughing yearning pushing loving hating enjoying destroying salvaging sacrificing torturing. And it is sublime.”

We are human and we’re here to make the most our experience on this teensy little rock called Earth, right? Right.

George Bernard Shaw said:
This is the true joy in life- that being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one. That being a force of nature, instead of a feverish, selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy. I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community and as long as I live it is my privilege to do for it whatever I can. I want to be thoroughly used up when I die. For the harder I work the more I live. I rejoice in life for its own sake. Life is no brief candle to me. It’s a sort of splendid torch which I’ve got to hold up for the moment and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it on to future generations.

Welcome to our efforts in exploring self-exploration itself- the trials it puts us through. The love. The fear.  The growth. But not the end. There is no end to our story- our ever evolving and changing identities as we learn new things, push ourselves beyond our limits (thus setting higher standards for ourselves), and communicate the process.

The Vanity:
Vanity is such a dirty little word, isn’t it?  So few positives come from the thought. We’re here to take our dirty little secret back. We’re here to experiment, experience, express, and enjoy the little things life has to offer. Taking pride in ourselves and our modes of self-expression is a key element in demonstrating the confidence necessary to fully evolve in The Rush. There will be fluff. There will be fun. There will be a large aesthetic piece to this project. It might go over the top. It might be excessive at times. Why? Because it’s fun. And/or funny. Amusement is the Muse. Whatever tickles our fancy will be our topic. Keep a light heart.

Leave a Reply

