Vanity Reviews: Reviva Vitamin K Cream

As many of you may know, I’m always on the quest to search for amazing products that help with the aging process. So  I’m a little bit of an anti-aging nut. Fair enough. I won’t argue that.

Throughout my life, I’ve had a few bumps and bruises along the way. As an adolescent I had a growth spurt or two that resulted in stretch marks on my legs from growing too tall too fast (and at my 5’2″ height, I feel mother nature did me a bit of an injustice there). And my face has gone on to develop very “rosy” complexion (read that as “annoying red splotches”).

My search brought me to vitamin K creams.

Vitamin K is said to help with bruising, red spots, spider veins, dark circles under the eyes, stretch marks, and some scars. Essentially, vitamin K helps strengthen blood vessel walls which helps with most of these issues for obvious reasons. According to LiveStrong.com, a study on vitamin K creams indicated that it might have anti-aging effects, as well as anti-inflammatory effects. The container for Reviva’s Vitamin K cream even notes that it can be used before and after facial surgery, supposedly to help with the healing process.

I’ve read mixed reviews about what Vitamin K can do. Some people swear by it. Some experts are less convinced. Because most cosmetic products (which it seems all of the these products fall into the category of) only have a small percentage of actual vitamin K in their product. It is arguable that this would be considered an effective dose.

Either way, I decided to give it a shot. I tend to go based on what people with experience have to tell me when it comes to products like this. Yeah yeah, I hear you saying “Anecdotal evidence is no evidence at all!” Fine, but this isn’t a research study. It’s a quest! And I’m much more adventuresome when it comes to product testing.

That said, I decided to invest in Reviva’s Vitamin K Cream after reading some reviews that stated that it helps with the reduction in appearance of scars.

Reviva Vitamin K

Reviva Vitamin K, ruthlessly manipulated in pixlr-o-matic.

And here is what I found:

The bright red scars on my legs from an accident (from scratches that barely broke the skin- I scar easily) faded considerably in about 2-3 weeks time, whereas there appeared to be no visible fading within the last several months.  I was amazed each time I applied the product (2x daily, morning and night). Now granted, the scars aren’t gone, but it has only been about 1 month of use at the time of this writing. Patience is a virtue. The stretch marks from adolescence are lightening (a much slower process than those scratch scars). And the red splotches on my face? They faded after 3 days of application. 3 days, people! I have noted that with the red spots on my face, I have to use the product consistently (2-3 days out of each week) for it to maintain. Not bad though. A month without foundation is a good month,-I will assure you of that.

And here’s a tip I’ve found that helps- adding exfoliation to the process seemed to yield even better results. Exfoliate, vitamin K. I do this about 3x weekly, with the vitamin K cream 2x daily.

I’m impressed, ladies and gentlemen.

Give it a go and see what you think! Right now, amazon is offering this particular cream for about $13.22.
I bought mine from Vitamin Shoppe for 17 dollars and some change.

Question: What have you found that works for scars of various types? Have a favorite anti-aging cream? I’m always looking for feedback so I can play along!

PS: And if you can point me in the direction of the Fountain of Youth, that would be MOST appreciated!

FYI:

Product information from Reviva Labs:
Ingredients: Purified Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Vegetable Oil, Vitamin K, Stearyl Stearate, Lactic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Allantoin, Lime Flower Extract, Cetearyl Alcohol, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Methyl & Propyl Paraben
Directions: “Vitamin K Cream provides high intensity treatment for bruised, red, irritated skin and facial spider veins in a pH-balanced cream. Helps fade and clear bruises. Can also reduce appearance of spider veins on face. The fade-&-clear treatment for bruises. Also helps calm red, irritated areas. Recent research has proven that Vitamin K, in the proper formulation, can dramatically minimize the bruised or reddened look. Reviva Labs special formula helps fade and clear bruises; helps improve appearance of broken capillaries, spider veins, rosacea, and any reddened, irritated areas on face. Also useful prior to facial surgery (use two weeks prior) and after surgery.
Apply morning and night with moistened fingertips.”
Leave a Reply

