Wishing in Vain: May 2012 Wishlist Volume 1

The May 2012 “Wishing in Vain” wishlist is now here!
I call it that, because all the wishing for these items really is in vain. I have plenty of cosmetics, and I would hate to do an inventory of the amount of money I have spent in the past year on all the different items (especially if you include nail polish in that category, and I think most of us do).

Either way, here’s my want-to-have-so-bad-it-makes-me-dizzy wishlist of vanity.

First on the list is a collection from MAC Cosmetics. To tell you the truth, everything that is MAC can be on this wishlist, but I figured we could be a teensy more selective for this blog’s purposes.

Fashion Sets, from MAC

Fashion Sets, from MAC. Image is copyrighted for MAC Cosmetics.

MAC has 4 Fashion Sets they are working with this season. Of those sets are North America , Asia Pacific, Europe/Africa, and Latin America/Middle East. My want-to-have is Myth, from the Europe/Africa set. I love the natural tones of it (which is bizarre for me, ladies and gentlemen), and I have been impressed with both the lipglass and lipstick from MAC. The lipglass from their Glitter collection lasts forever. I have no experience with their nail polish (sorry, when I think MAC, I do not think nail polish).

Myth from Europe/Africa

Myth from Europe/Africa Set: MAC Cosmetics

Next on the list is Buxom’s Big and Healthy Lip Stick.

Buxom

Buxom Lip Stick, Marrakech

I love this color, and actually have a sample from Sephora, but it is the Brooklyn color. The color lasts a great while, mixes well with most lipsticks, and due to the plumper in the mix, it gives my lips this nice, warm, and tingly feeling. It also acts as a liner and can be used to fill in like, well, lipstick! Love it!

Next up- Too Faced Better Than False Lashes

Too Faced Better Than False Lashes

Too Faced Better Than False Lashes

The mascara system comes with a base coat that activates with the top coat to “stretch and seal” the flexicoat nylon fibers (what is used to create the illusion of longer lashes). Per Sephora’s Website, the directions are as follows:
Suggested Usage:
-Step one, prime: Use 1-2 coats of the activating mascara to create a base to adhere the weightless, nylon fibers.
-Step two, build: Brush on 1-2 coats of the Flexistretch nylon fibers to build outrageous length and volume. Focus the fibers where you want extra length or volume.
-Step three, seal: Finish by sealing the Flexistretch nylon fibers with 1-2 coats of the ultra-black activating mascara to create that “better than false lashes” effect. This final coat surrounds each nylon-coated lash and melts the fibers into a long, thick, dramatic lash.

This baby goes for 35 bucks. I’ll be honest with you though- I’d never pay that. It would be more for experimentation, and I’ve read some mixed reviews about the quality of the product.

And finally there is SPAritual’s “It’s Raining Men” Nail Lacquer:

It's Raining Men

Hallelujah, It’s Raining Men!

This goes on the nails like a sky blue with pink highlights. From what I’ve seen, the color is pretty true to the bottle. I’ve also heard great things about how it doesn’t really chip, even without a topcoat or base coat. In terms of the color, I’ve read that it is comparable to ORLY’s Sky Blue Pink. The non-chip-age might make the higher price worth it. ORLY’s version is about half the price, as SPAritual’s nail lacquers appear to be going for about 10 bucks.

Well, ladies and gents, that’s all that I can glutton-up this morning for my vanity dreams. If I try any of these product, you know you will get reviews!

Speaking of which…

Have you used any of these products? What would you have to say about them? Are they worth your investment? What criticisms do you have that you feel as though buyers should be aware of?

Have a great weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

