How I Coped with My Day (or Learn to Laugh a Little)

I work an overnight shift that has me coming in late afternoon and working until the wee hours of the morning. I thought I would like it. I am a night owl, after all.

And maybe that is the problem. You see, there is something about working this shift that isn’t, well, *working* at all. I suppose that my mind is a little more lax at this time of night. I’m more prone to want to do creative things and speak my mind.

That’s not generally okay here.

Stifling, much?

Nevermind the lacking resources for creativity. Nevermind working in a dry and boring office setting. Nevermind having to jump up at the drop of a hat to do god-knows-what for god-knows-who.

I’ve been losing myself lately. My creative juices don’t flow like they once did. Oh my… am I having a menopause of the spirit? “That’s me in the corner. That’s me in the spotlight losing my religion.” And yes, sometimes it feels just that deep.

That’s not okay. And coping with that is tough. How do you cope with a waning identity?

I don’t know about you folks, but I like to keep things a titch on the weird side.

Hello, my name is Stefanie (that’s Bat Jackson, to you, though), and I am in my late 20s and I carried my Batarang to work with me today.

Seems legit.

“Why in the world did you bring that in today?” I was asked.
“Protection,” says Bats.
*confused stare*
“It makes me LAUGH,” growls Bats.
*a slow, concerned nod followed by cautious self-removal of the person from my general area of (dys)functioning*

Listen, I’m not looking to keep any dry personality regardless of social expectations to become an automaton., and if this little toy will help me to hold on to any semblance of the gorgeous insanity I once had, then so be it.

What are your socially maladaptive and/or inappropriate coping skills as deemed so by easily-startled others?
(W0w, Bats. That’s a convoluted question, ain’t it?)

Signed with lots of love,
    -Bat Jackson

Leave a Reply

